Links and Stuff About US Contact Lunar
Welcome to Lunar Magazine
Lunar Reviews
Music on CD
Music on Vinyl
- Progressive
- House
- Drum-N-Bass
- Techno
- Breaks/Electro
2005 parties
2004 parties
2003 parties
2002 parties
2001 parties
2000 parties
1999 parties
Fashion Shows

Email Newsletter
Get the latest Lunar news sent straight to your inbox!

  Om Records Om 100
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5

by David Dahl

San Francisco based label, OM Records, has brought the world some of the most appealing downtempo, house, and hip-hop since 1995. The Mushroom Jazz, Om Lounge, and San Francisco Sessions collections have always been safe bets for investing your money when shopping for new music. OM 100 maintains the label's standard of excellence in this double disc collection of new releases from all their best artists. The 100th release (hence the album name) not only claims to be a "best of" collection from the label, but of new music as well.

Disc one illuminates your day with the soul-soothing music of Afro-Mystik's "Natural." Vocalist, Omega, highlights the Afro-Brazilian rhythms with a voice that resonates right along side of the music, creating a saturated sound in which the entire group becomes the front man. Pimp Rekker picks up the mood with his funk track, "In Time." Although the vocals are unfortunately manipulated with a tired vocoder effect, the music is powerful enough to make up for it. Altogether, the first disc remains primarily downtempo with some funk and house to break it up in the middle.

Disc two kicks off with the funky but smooth hip-hop track, "Never Stop," by Soulstice. The beats break down tough into rolls that are reminiscent of a DJ shadow mix. And what OM compilation would be complete without Mark Farina? His track, "Everyday," shows off the extent of his funky downtempo skills. The compilation trails off with the Latin lounge sounds of "Lock It Up" by West Magnetic, a saturated track that induces dancing rather than lounging. OM 100 ventures in every direction of the softer side of electronica and hip-hop, but one thing stays the same throughout: it's bright, positive, and mood altering sound.


Om 100 from Om 100
compiled by Om Records

Track Listing:

  1. King Kooba "Salvation"
  2. Afro-Mystik "Natural"
  3. Johnny Flasco "Take Five"
  4. Pimp Rekker "In Time"
  5. Mark Grant "Hey You"
  6. Kaskade "Get Busy"
  7. Marques Wyatt "Rude Groove"
  8. Rithma "Just Before Dawn"
  9. Soulstice "All Right"
  10. Andy Caldwell "I Can't Wait" (Perpetual Bliss Mix)
  11. Kaskade "What I Say"
Disc 2:
  1. Soulstice "Never Stop"
  2. J Boogie's Dubtronic Science "La Playa"
  3. Mark Farina "Everyday"
  4. People Under The Stairs "The Bomb Combo"
  5. Ming & FS "Misdirected"
  6. Scuba "Beauty and Warmth of an Ultra Violet Memory"
  7. John Howard "Buddha Cowboy"
  8. Fred Everything "Afro Loft Theme"
  9. Juan Atkins "Something About the Music"
  10. Landslide "Don't Give Up Now"
  11. West Magnetic "Lock It Up"

Order Now at

back to top

New and Improved
Hello & Welcome

Have we forgotten anything? Could we make the site even better? Feel free to drop us a line to tell us what you think.


home  |  features  |  events  |  reviews  |  dj charts  |  forum  |  my lunar  |  links  |  about us  |  contact