Links and Stuff About US Contact Lunar
Welcome to Lunar Magazine
Lunar Reviews
Music on CD
Music on Vinyl
- Progressive
- House
- Drum-N-Bass
- Techno
- Breaks/Electro
2005 parties
2004 parties
2003 parties
2002 parties
2001 parties
2000 parties
1999 parties
Fashion Shows

Email Newsletter
Get the latest Lunar news sent straight to your inbox!

  John Selway Lightwave
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Rating: 4.5 out of 5

by Chris Haire

When you first pop John Selway's new mix CD, Lightwave, into your player, you may be a bit surprised as to how things start. Most people instantly associate the name Selway with his futuristic, techy productions that ooze constant, pulsating energy the sort of sound from which Christian Smith and John Selway have gained global popularity. However, most people are unfamiliar with Selway's other side, a lesser-known ambient facet of his musical interests.

From the beginning of Lightwave, Selway sets the common theme throughout most the CD ambient soundscapes of sci-fi, out-of-this-world elements. The first third of the CD sets a warm, inviting mood with a blend of minimal techno and deep tech sounds. After the first 7 or 8 songs are spun together seamlessly, enough time passes to leave you wondering, "Ok, I'm really shocked this is Selway. Where's the techy stuff?" Just then, Selway brings us into his trademark blend of techno with influences of industrial, mechanized sounds. But he doesn't dwell for long in this valley of his CD.

After continuing on this path for a few tracks, Selway decides it's time to pick up the tempo a bit. However, instead of moving toward banging it out with some high-energy techno, Selway moves back into his atmospheric based tracks. And this time, the tracks are laced with some more traditional techno-kick drum lines, simultaneously providing energy and warmth. As the CD comes to a close, the energy drops off steadily with the last few tracks, breaking down to more atmospheric sounds and eventually to the sounds of a thunderstorm or nature. At this point, Selway has completed our journey through his musical influences, and what a journey it was. If this is a glimpse at what we can expect from this talented DJ and producer in the future, we're in for something special.


Lightwave from Lightwave
Mixed by John Selway
Track Listing:

  1. Michael Victory - Winds of Change
  2. One Time - Staggered (Jay Tripwire Mix)
  3. A J Hunter - Waxing the Dolphin
  4. Dolphin Wave Effect- Maiden Flight
  5. Ron Carroll - Poetry & Rhythm (Jason Dunne's Sunrise Mix)
  6. David Alvarado - Blue (CSM Version)
  7. Beroshima - Understand
  8. Boyd Jarvis featuring Level 3 - Central Line (Boyd's 2001 Remix)
  9. The Producers - Feel My Loving (Anti Trance Terrorist Remix)
  10. Antony - Sapna Voice
  11. Selway - Remember (CSM Version)
  12. Bobby R - Part II
  13. Abe Duque - The Mind of He
  14. Holger Finsch - Bad Reichenhall
  15. Robbers of Antiquity - Nocturnal (Selway Remix)
  16. Southsoniks - Killa Det Sound
  17. Highrise - Hope for Peace
  18. Technasia - Future Mix
  19. Heiko Laux - Move Out
  20. Salz - Salz V

Order Now at

back to top

New and Improved
Hello & Welcome

Have we forgotten anything? Could we make the site even better? Feel free to drop us a line to tell us what you think.


home  |  features  |  events  |  reviews  |  dj charts  |  forum  |  my lunar  |  links  |  about us  |  contact